Skip Novak's Storm Sailing Techniques

12. Using a tender

Your tender is your lifeline to the shore and its type, size and equipment are critical in remote areas. Skip Novak demonstrates what he uses, why - and how. In the latest video from our Storm Sailing Series, expedition guru Skip Novak demonstrates how your tenders type, size and equipment are critical when cruising in remote areas.

11. Tying to shore

Anchoring in remote destinations requires certain measures to protect the ship from unpredictable winds or other possible threats like drift ice. In this episode, expedition guru Skip Novak shows how tying to shore is successfully done under heavy weather conditions.

10. Anchoring

Skip Novak’s philosophy when it comes to anchoring is: heavier than recommended can do no harm. In this episode, he shows what kind of anchorage equipment and techniques are useful when it comes to hold fast in some very extreme high latitudes conditions.

9. Sounding an uncharted bay

In this episode of Skip Novak’s Storm Sailing Techniques you learn, how to approach an uncharted and hostile bay and what kind of modern and traditional methods there are for conning your way in safely.

8. Warps and Drogues

In this segment, Skip Novak explains the possibilities and risks of using warps and drogues to slow down a sailing yacht under heavy weather conditions. Learn, why even Skip Novak only falls back to these techniques in emergency situations.

7. Sail Design

Without the right material ,even professionals can barely defy a storm on open sea. Anyone who plans a circumnavigation should back on durable material, especially when choosing the sails.

6. Preparing the Deck

Securing the deck is one of the most important preparations for heavy-weather sailing. In this episode, Skip Novak explains which preparations need to be completed to prevent damages and accidents. “Prepare well, prepare for the worst.

5. Reefing

Reefing is mostly done after a storm has already approached and threatens the ship and crew. Skip Novak’s principle is: “Reef before you need to.” In this video, he shows how to recognize the right moment and how reefing is safely done. 

4. Heaving To

Heaving to is a very useful tool for heavy-weather sailing. With help of this technique, small periods of rest are possible even under challenging weather conditions. Skip Novak explains, how it’s safely done.

3. Trysail Storm

Skip Novak dedicates this episode of our documentation to the trysails—explaining how to use them, as well as noting which characteristics and dangers you need to keep a watch out for. 

2. Pelagic Tour

The remarkable high-latitude expeditions which Skip Novak undertakes with his two cutters are highly challenging for both man and machinery. In this segment, learn more about life and equipment on board of the ships. 

1. Making of the series

At a place, where forecasts seem meaningless, Skip Novak, the well-known British adventurer, scientist and blue water sailor, invites you into his world of heavy-weather sailing. We hope you enjoy part one of our series in cooperation with Yachting World. 

Your direct contact
+49 40 37091234
+49 40 37091109
Contact via E-Mail
Contact via Callback
Google Maps

Skip Novak's Storm Sailing Techniques

12. Using a tender

Ihr Beiboot ist Ihre Rettungsleine um jederzeit an die Küste zu gelangen. Besonders in abgelegenen Gebieten sind Art, Größe und Ausstattung besonders kritisch. In der letzten Ausgabe der Storm Sailing Reihe zeigt Skip Novak, warum Art, Größe und Ausstattung eines Beibootes von entscheidender Bedeutung beim Segeln in abgelegenen Gebieten sind.

11. Tying to shore

Das Ankern in abgelegenen Regionen erfordert einige Maßnahmen um das Schiff von unvorhersehbaren Winden oder anderen möglichen Gefahren wie zum Beispiel Treibeis zu schützen. In dieser Episode zeigt der Expeditionsguru Skip Novak wie das Festmachen an der Küste auch unter Schwerwetterbedingungen gelingt.

10. Anchoring

Skip Novaks Philosophie beim Ankern lautet: Schwerer als empfohlen kann niemals schaden. In dieser Episode zeigt er, welche Ausrüstung und Techniken beim Ankern hilfreich sind, wenn es darum geht unter den extremen Bedingungen hoher Breitengrade seine Position zu halten.

9. Sounding an uncharted bay

In dieser Episode von Skip Novaks Storm Sailing Techniques erfahren Sie,  wie man sich einer unbekannten und unwirtlichen Küste am geschicktesten nähert und welche modernen und traditionellen Methoden es gibt ein sicheres Fahrwasser auszuloten.

8. Warps and drogues

Diesen Monat bespricht Skip Novak die Möglichkeiten und Risiken des Einsatzes von Warp- und Treibankern zum verlangsamen einer Segelyacht unter Schwerwetter Bedingungen. Erfahren Sie, wieso selbst Skip Novak nur in Notsituationen auf diese Techniken zurückgreift. 

7. Sail design

Ohne das richtige Material können selbst Profis einem Unwetter auf hoher See nur schwer trotzen. Wer etwa eine Weltumseglung plant, der sollte insbesondere bei der Auswahl der Segel auf langlebiges Material setzen.

6. Preparing the deck

Die Sicherung des Decks gehört zu den wichtigsten Vorbereitungen des Schwerwetter-Segelns. Skip Novak erklärt in dieser Episode welche Vorbereitungen unbedingt getroffen werden sollten, um Schäden und Unfälle zu vermeiden. „Prepare well, prepare for the worst.“

5. Reefing

Meist geschieht das Reffen erst, wenn ein Sturm bereits aufgezogen ist und droht das Schiff und die Mannschaft zu gefährden. Skip Novaks Prinzip lautet: „Reffen, bevor es nötig wird“. In diesem Video erklärt Novak, wie man den richtigen Zeitpunkt erkennt und das Reffen sicher ausführt.

4. Heaving to

Das Beidrehen ist ein äußerst nützliches Hilfsmittel für das Schwerwetter-Segeln. Mit Hilfe dieser Technik gelingen kurze Verschnaufpausen auch unter herausfordernden Witterungsbedingungen. Skip Novak erklärt in diesem Video, wie es sicher ausgeführt wird. 

3. Trysail storm

Skip Novak widmet sich in dieser Episode unserer Dokumentation den Sturm-Segeln und erklärt, wie diese zu verwenden sind und auf welche Besonderheiten und Gefahren beim Einsatz geachtet werden muss. 

2. Pelagig tour

Die außergewöhnlichen Expeditionen in die höchsten Breitengrade, die Novak mit seinen Fahrtenyachten unternimmt, verlangen Mensch und Material Höchstleistungen ab. Erfahren Sie in diesem Teil der Dokumentation mehr über das Leben an Bord und die Ausstattung der Schiffe.

1. Making of the series

An einem Ort, an dem Wettervorhersagen bedeutungslos erscheinen, führt sie Skip Novak, der bekannte britische Abenteurer, Forscher und Hochseesegler, ein in seine Welt des Schwerwetter Segelns. Teil eins unserer Serie in Kooperation mit Yachting World. 

Ihr direkter Kontakt
+49 40 37091234
+49 40 37091109
Kontakt per E-Mail
Kontakt per Rückruf
Google Maps